Scripture Meditation

Scripture Meditation“There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.” (Proverbs 14:12)

Self-deception is the worst kind of dishonesty because it is so convincing.  Subtly it convenes our mind and emotions to ally around a lie. When great things happen in our life we may give ourselves the praise instead of God when He is really the one who defines success. We allow the Devil to use our thoughts and insecurities to create deceptions and doubts in our minds. Then we wander down a prayerless path, forged in our own strength, only to discover we missed God’s best by a mile.

“I guide you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths” (Proverbs 4:11).

Self-deceivers are self-destroyers; so avoid self-delusion by being accountable. Give others permission to ask you uncomfortable, even hard, questions. Better to be embarrassed sooner than humiliated later. Humility invites the inspection of loving friends into our lives. You do much better when others provide loving accountability.

“The pride of your heart has deceived you” (Obadiah 1:3).

We can talk ourselves into anything, especially as it relates to money. I can easily justify a new house, car, kitchen, furniture, floors, or grill. But do I really need to upgrade or just repair what I have? How can the Lord trust me with something newer if I have not been a good steward of what He has already given me? Trustworthy people can be trusted with more, but the untrustworthy lose opportunities. Thus manage well your present possessions.

“The heart is hopelessly dark and deceitful, a puzzle that no one can figure out. But I, God, search the heart and examine the mind. I get to the heart of the human. I get to the root of things. I treat them as they really are, not as they pretend to be” (Jeremiah 17:9 msg).

 

PRAYER:

Father, I come before You, just as I am, to praise you and to give you thanks, for you truly are the Creator of heaven and earth.

I beg of You in the Name of Jesus, to enlighten my mind, to see those things you would have me see, and to strengthen my will, to do those things you would have me do.

Give to each of us here a deeper vision of your plan; help us to walk in your presence today and to be attentive to your Holy Spirit.  I ask this in the name of your son Jesus Christ, Amen!

3 thoughts on “Scripture Meditation

  1. Pingback: “Self-deception… | Stephanie Aponte

  2. Pingback: Does Being honest Pay well? | The Freed Organization

  3. Pingback: GOD’S GRACE SEASONS OUR LIVES WITH AROMA « VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

